I Will Never Stop Trying

Chloe Longstreet
6 min readJul 9, 2022
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

My mother hated my second father when she met him. Luckily for her, she only had to deal with him for a few weeks before my second mother joined the family.

Luckily for me, she wrote me letters explaining how much she loved my original father and me before that other woman took over.

Unluckily for me, I will never get to meet my actual parents.

The worst part is that nobody sees what’s happening. Instead of seeing who is actually there, they only see the originals. They probably mutter behind closed doors over my father’s strange headgear and odd-colored eyes and wonder why my mother looks so gray and haggard all the time. But no one knows the real reason they look like they do.

And I can’t tell them, because they wouldn’t believe me.

Here’s the deal. When my first father went to pick my first mother up from the hospital after I was born, my second father snuck out to get cigarettes from the convenience store. He didn’t believe the doctors when they told him how ill he was. Dazed, he stepped out in front of a car as he left the building. He died just as my first father walked past.

That’s what I learned from the newspaper.

What the news doesn’t tell you is that my second father’s soul pushed my original father from his body after the accident and…

--

--

Chloe Longstreet

Marketing advice that is easy to understand. Sci-Fi and Horror short stories. And whatever else I feel like writing about.