What To Do When Mental Health Issues Cause Creator’s Block

Chloe Longstreet
6 min readJul 18, 2022
Photo by Ethan Sykes on Unsplash

A few months ago, I was on a roll.

I was writing articles about once a week. I was posting on Twitter three times a day. And I was sharing content on LinkedIn three times a week.

I had a system and it was working!

In May of 2022, I had two of my highest performing Tweets ever. I should have been on cloud nine.

Screenshot of author’s high-performing tweets

After all, I know from spending the past several years studying how people grow an active and engaged community on social media, that once things start to blow up like that, all you have to do is stay consistent. The results begin to snowball and then you finally have a way to get eyeballs on your content.

No more shouting into the abyss!

But around the same time, I was dealing with a lot of family stuff that was extremely traumatic for me. Memories from my childhood that had been long buried were being forced to surface. And I lost my mom.

She’s not dead, but she might as well be because we got into an argument and she refuses to talk about it or fix things despite numerous offers from my side of things.

--

--

Chloe Longstreet

Marketing advice that is easy to understand. Sci-Fi and Horror short stories. And whatever else I feel like writing about.